Automatic Disability Impairments & Qualifications

Automatic Disability Impairments & Qualifications

SSDI is reserved for people with impairments severe enough to keep them from performing any kind of meaningful work. It is not intended for partial or short term disability. Any disability that qualifies you for SSDI benefits is a serious condition. However, the Social Security Administration (SSA) recognizes some medical conditions as so debilitating that there is little doubt that the affected individual will be approved for disability benefits. These are referred to as automatic disability impairments, and the SSA may offer automatic approval for those diagnosed.

What Are Compassionate Allowances?

In its “Blue Book,” the SSA lists 200 conditions that it calls “compassionate allowances.” The Compassionate Allowances list names the illnesses and injuries that the SSA considers severe enough to approve automatically with a doctor’s diagnosis, because of their debilitating and life-threatening nature. Some of the more common automatic disability impairments that have earned a spot on the compassionate allowances list include:

  • Many types of aggressive cancer, including acute leukemia, small cell lung cancer, inflammatory breast cancer, hepatocellular liver cancer, anaplastic thyroid cancer, and cancer of the pancreas or gallbladder.
  • ALS (also known as Lou Gehrig’s Disease) and Parkinson’s Disease Dementia
  • Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Huntington’s Disease
  • Malignant brain tumors
  • Certain types of chromosomal disorders

What Is the SSA’s Listing Of Impairments?

In addition to the compassionate allowances list, the Social Security Administration also names several conditions which only require proof of occurrence. This list of automatic disability impairments is also subject to automatic approval of benefits if you meet the conditions. However, the SSA will reevaluate your condition after one to three years to determine if you are still considered totally disabled. Some of the medical conditions on this listing of impairments include:

  • A recent transplant of the heart, lung, kidney, or liver
  • A recent cochlear implant
  • Chronic kidney disease (on dialysis)
  • Blindness

Eligibility Requirements For Social Security Disability Benefits

Even if you meet the medical requirements for eligibility, there are other requirements you must meet to receive SSDI payments. To receive SSDI benefits, you must have a work history that demonstrates you have “paid into” the system. The requisite number of years of gainful employment will depend on your age. Children under 18 and adults who have not earned the required work credits may qualify for supplemental security income (SSI). However, SSI has very strict income and resource requirements. For both SSDI and SSI, the program requires you to be a U.S. citizen or qualifying legal resident.

Many people who should qualify for “automatic approval” of disability benefits are still turned down on their initial applications. If the SSA does not get all the information it requires (medical records, complete documentation of your diagnosis, financial information, etc.), your application will be denied.

Contact A Disability Lawyer In Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

If your social security disability application has been denied, an experienced attorney that specializes in SSDI appeal can help. Contact Klok Law Firm LLC in Mt. Pleasant, SC to schedule a free consultation.